VTEM skitter

Computer Engineering Department

Faculty of Radio Physics, Electronics and Computer Systems

What is "Computer Engineering"? It's the hardware and system software of any computer system and network of universal and special purpose, as well as their components.


In the Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, training on specialty "6.050102. Computer engineering" takes place at the Department of Computer Engineering on the program "Computer Systems and Networks" at all levels of higher education (bachelor's, master's, education and research). Duration of training of the first level of higher education (bachelor) for educational degree Bachelor – 4 years, of the second level of higher education (master) for educational master's degree – 2 years, of the third level of higher education (education and research) for education Ph.D. – 4 years.

Under the license granted by Ukrainian Ministry of Education and Science Department of Computer engineering has the right to admit:

  • bachelors on the 1th course – 100 students
  • Masters on the 1th course – 60 students
  • Ph.D. students on the 1th course of studies – 10 students

The objects of activity of an engineer of the bachelor level are hardware and software computer systems, networks and their components. After completing bachelor courses students can continue their studies to obtain a Master degree. Master's level specialist has special knowledge and skills to perform pedagogical, scientific research and to carry out management functions.

The field of activity of computer engineers includes technical equipment and system software of any computer system and network of the universal and special purpose, and their component.

Computer engineering – a combination of Electronics and Computer Science – has been studying computer equipment, ranging from microprocessors to supercomputers. Computer engineer – a research engineer who is profiled in the Department in two directions:

  • Programming tools and software (software platform of computer systems)
  • Development of hardware equipment (hardware platform of computer systems)

For students training the Department is well equipped with all necessary laboratory equipment. Academies of leading companies such as CISCO and Microsoft work on the Department of computer engineering. With the appropriate choice of courses, students can specialize in computer systems, system programming, computer communications, networking technologies, embedded systems, pattern recognition, expert systems, multimedia systems and other areas of IT-industry.

The curriculum of Department of Computer Engineering includes five training cycles: cycle of humanitarian and socioeconomic training, cycle of natural-scientific training, cycle of professional and practical training, cycle of disciplines at the University choice of and cycle of discipline students selection.

The curriculum of the Department provides a balance between courses of computer systems, hardware and software and courses of fundamental of Physics and Mathematics. Graduates can continue their education in postgraduate course in computer technology or choose a career related to computers and their application in the field of high technology.

A short list of professional disciplines which taught at the Department includes: algorithms, discrete mathematics, computer architecture and organization, computer systems, circuits and signals systems, databases, digital circuitry and electronics, digital signal processing and digital communications, embedded systems, operating systems, software development, computer networks, computer aided design, social and professional issues.

While studying at the department, students can choose one of two specializations:

  • System administration
  • Network administration

Courses taught within these specializations, focused on obtaining additional knowledge in the relevant fields.

History of the Department of Computer Engineering

In January 1952 at the Physics Department under the direction of academician of the USSR, Professor V. E. Lashkarev established the first in the Soviet Union Department of Semiconductor Physics. In 1954 this Department became part of the Faculty of Radiophysics. From 1957 to 1960, Head of Department was Professor V. Lyashenko, from 1960 to 1975 – Professor Yu. Karhanin, from 1975 to 1996 – Professor V. Stryha.

In 1991 at the Department of Radioelectronics organized specialization "Automation of scientific research". For the first time in Ukraine at the Department was launched a series of activities aimed to intensive application of modern computer and network technologies for automation of physical experiment. In 1996 Department of Semiconductor Physics was merged with the Department of Radioelectronics and called Department of Semiconductor Electronics. Head of Department was honored Ukrainian scientist, academician of the Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine, Professor O. Tretyak.

Under his leadership at the Department was created world-famous school of physics of semi-conductors. Theoretical and experimental studies of contact metal-semiconductor, graded-gap semiconductors, semiconductors in strong electric fields, solar cells, physics reliability of semiconductor devices and components of integrated circuits, nanostructured semiconductor, chemical and biological sensors, organic semiconductors and devices on they are based, semiconductor spintronics, near-field physics, quantum size effects, methods of semiconductor heterostructures may be noted among the main research areas of the school.

Since 2006 the department is headed by Associate Professor Yu. Boyko. At 2008 Department began training specialists in computer engineering. In 2010 name of the Department was named to Department of Computer Engineering. In 2012 professor S. Pogorily, D.Sc. became head of the Department.

In different years many famous Ukrainian scientists was worked at the Department: Professor, laureate of State Prize, Academician, Professor V. Lashkarev, Academician of the Academy of Pedagogical Sciences, Professor O. Tretyak, corresponding member of National Academy of Sciences, Professor V. Litovchenko, M. Sheinkman, professors V. Grygoruk, V. Dobrovolsky, V. Lyashenko, G. Peka, V. Strikha, D. Sheka, G. Holodar, laureate of Prize of USSR Council of Ministers in Science and technology, Professor S. Pogorily, professors I. Anisimov, V. Brodovyy, V. Vorobiev, S. Zharkikh, V. Ilchenko, Y. Karhanin, A. Korol, Y. Lashkarev, S. Levitskii, V. Lozovskii, V. Lvov, Yu. Pervak, V. Skryshevskyy, G. Chaika, doctors E. Buzanova, G. Kuznetsov and State Prize of Ukraine, Ph.D. A. Voskoboynikov, S. Pavlyuk.